NEWS Dr. Surender Singh (CMO NFSG) and Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (SAG) involved in criminal/ departmental proceedings must be suspended to check corruption, Posted on 06th November 2016         Dr. Surender Singh (CMO NFSG) and Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (SAG) involved in criminal/ departmental proceedings must be suspended to check corruption, Posted on 06th November 2016         Dr. Surender Singh (CMO NFSG) and Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (SAG) involved in criminal/ departmental proceedings must be suspended to check corruption, Posted on 06th November 2016         Dr. Surender Singh (CMO NFSG) and Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (SAG) involved in criminal/ departmental proceedings must be suspended to check corruption, Posted on 06th November 2016         Dr. Surender Singh (CMO NFSG) and Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (SAG) involved in criminal/ departmental proceedings must be suspended to check corruption, Posted on 06th November 2016         Dr. Surender Singh (CMO NFSG) and Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (SAG) involved in criminal/ departmental proceedings must be suspended to check corruption, Posted on 06th November 2016        
 
Complaint of Whistle blower to CVC - Corruption of Aruna Asaf Ali Govt Hospital, 5-Rajpur Road, Delhi-54
 

I was working in Aruna Asaf Ali Govt. Hospital, 5-Rajpur Road, Civil Lines, Delhi-54 since 2004. Earlier this hospital was known as “Civil Hospital” and “Police Hospital”. When I noticed corruption in this hospital which was affecting smooth functioning of hospital, non-availability of medicines, surgical items, poor patient care and sanitation work, I raised my voice against corruption. I wrote a letter as “WHISTLE BLOWER” to Central Vigilance Commission (CVC) as per the guidelines of CVC on dated 01-08-2013 which is as follows:

To,
The Secretary
Central Vigilance Commission                                        date- 01-08-2013
A- Block, Satarkata Bhawan, GPO Complex, 
INA, New Delhi

Subject: Corruption of Aruna Asaf Ali Govt Hospital, 5-Rajpur Road, Delhi-54

Respected Sir,

I hereby giving information about the corruption which is going on since 2010 to till date which is done especially by Dr. Surendra Singh (CMO, NFSG) holding seat of Chairman Medical Board now since more than 3 years in this hospital. He is creating hindrance in smooth functioning of the hospital. It results into poor patient care and non-availability of essential drugs and surgical items to the patients and few cases giving you as whistle blower. 

I got life threat from Dr. Surendra Singh and for my family also. Dr. Surendra Singh is having a strong back up of all type and lobbying with the suppliers. Therefore, none of the doctor and the M.S loud their voice against him.

I have seen a lot of complaints against this doctor which were filed by many people against him. These complaints came to the M.S. from Directorate health services, (DHS) Delhi  for enquiry but instead of enquiry they were handed over to Dr. Surendra Singh or Dr. Amit Sharma, vigilance officer cum General store incharge who destroy these letters and all are trying to cover his corrupt activities.  

I personally informed the Medical superintendent about all the corrupt activities of Dr. Surendra Singh and even though the M.S. is not taking necessary action against him. 

Therefore, I'm providing you the information in good faith to stop corruption in Public Interest.

Dr. Avinash Kumar
Non-Teaching Specialist, Medicine
Aruna Asaf Ali Govt. Hospital
5-Rajur Road, Delhi-54
Mobile: 9560593045

CORRUPTION OF ARUNA ASAF ALI GOVT HOSPITAL 
1. It is to inform you that Sanitation services of  Aruna Asaf Ali Govt. Hospital, Govt. Of NCT of Delhi, Civil Lines, New Delhi-54 is outsourced in favor of M/s Kamal Sanitation Works since 29-03-2011 to till date for Rs. 1,99,824/- inclusive of all taxes per month and as per the tender terms and conditions. The authorities of this hospital is paying Rs. 2,20,406/- i.e. by adding all the taxes in the approved rates. This way hospital is paying Rs. 20,582/- per month and Rs. 5,76,296/- extra to the contractor to till date.

2. As per the tender terms and condition of sanitation services, the sanitation material will be provided by the contractor even though a lot of sanitation material was purchased in June 2011 like Brooms, Naphthalene balls, Finit, Fumy floor solution, Multipurpose cleaning solutions, vim, bleaching powder, etc. and still available in the hospital. 

3. One item known for floor cleaning is  Fumy Floor Solution which was purchased 250 cans for Rs. 2,990/- in June 2011 and 638 cans are still available in the hospital store. It is true that 638 cans of fumy floor solution is available in this hospital and it is when only 250 cans were purchased in June 2011. About Rs. 22,42,500/- plus 12.5% VAT i.e. TOTAL Rs. 25,22,812/- were spent on the purchase of total 750 cans of Fumy Floor solution from 16-04-10 to 29-06-2011. 

4. There is another sanitation item called Multipurpose cleaning solution which is used for floor cleaning purpose was purchased about 1800 cans from 16-04-2010 to 27-06-2011 for total Rs. Around 12,78,235/- including taxes. Quantity purchased in June 2011 was 1000 (One thousand cans) for Rs. 720/- per can and total purchasing for Rs. 8,10,000/- including taxes. Manufacturing date is 05/2011, Batch no. M 11 and expiry date is 2 years from the date of manufacturing.

5. In the month of June 2013, total 450 cans get expired and this hospital lost Rs. 3,24,000/- in form of excess purchasing which can be avoided by the hospital.

6. This purchasing was done from other hospital rates and the supplier belongs to out of Delhi i.e. G.N. Enterprises, Dehradun. This way, Delhi  Government revenue loss also stands for Rs. 90,000/- in the purchasing of Cleaning solution.

7. It is the rumour in the hospital that Dr. Surendra Singh, the then purchase officer, has stolen this file no. F.31(2)/GC-NC/General Store/AAAGH/11-12/ of purchasing of General store items from this hospital to hide his corrupt activities in the purchase of General store items. This file contains all purchase details of general store items for the financial year 2011-12 for around Rs. 80 lacs to 1 Crore or amount may increase also.

8. Information of this missing file is also submitted by new purchase officer to the M.S., Aruna Asaf Ali Govt. Hospital. Except issuing a letter to all the departments of hospital to search this file, no other necessary action is initiated by the M.S. He is trying to cover all the issues.

9. All the above things are also brought in the knowledge of the M.S. but he is not taking any necessary step against this corruption under the pressure of Dr. Surendra Singh. 

10. Dr. Surendra Singh managed the cancellation of open tender 2012-13 of general store items known as Group VII tender with the help of previous Medical superintendent Dr. S.B. Srivastva by mentioning the reason that most of items are not quoted by the firms and tender is canceled. Then the whole purchasing was done in piecemeal by violating GFR 145 through M/S Sai Ram Enterprises and M/s Vij Sons.

11. Dr. Surendra Singh and Dr. S.B. Srivastava also harassed a tenderer M/S Kasturi enterprises and through their corrupt activity bound him to stop his work, who get the work order through OTE 2012-13 under Group X which was known as Empanelment of Chemist/distributor.  Afterward all the surgical items were procured through M/s Vij Sons at around 35% discount on MRP when the hospital can get 68% discount on MRP from M/s Kasturi enterprises. If it is not done, then why not they have forfieted the EMD of M/s Kasturi enterprises and not taken any other action as per tender rules.

12. Dr. S.B. Srivastava has taken conveyance allowance from this hospital and also used the staff car for personal use which was also against the transport allowance rule. It also causes more than Rs. 1 Lac loss of government revenue.

13. There are a lot of cases of corruption of Dr. Surendra Singh and other doctors are also buried in the files of purchase section of this hospital which needs wide enquiry to stop corruption in this hospital. 

  Download full letter dated 01-08-2013

 

Central Vigilance Commission sent me a letter no. Conf/CFN/1192/13-222549on dated 13-08-2013 to confirm that i had actually sent the said complaint to the commission. The commission had also directed to furnish a certificate to the commission that  I had not made similar/identical allegations of corruption/misuse of office to any other authorities to qualify as a Whistle Blower complainant.

Surprisingly, this personal letter of CVC was deliberately opened by Dr. Ashok Jaiswal, Medical Superintendent, AAAGH, endorsed and ordered to handover Dr. Avinash Kumar (Whistle Blower) through vigilance officer.

In reference to confirmation of my identity and to qualify as a Whistle Blower complainant, I replied the letter of CVC on 28-08-2013. I had pointed out that my identity is disclosed by Dr. Ashok Jaiswal, Medical Superintendent, AAAGH who opened my letter and he also informed to other corrupt doctors and defamed me. The content of the letter was as follows:

To,
Secretary                                                                         date- 28-08-2013
Central Vigilance Commission                
A- Block, Satarkata Bhawan, GPO Complex, 
INA, New Delhi
Subject: Identity disclosed by the Medical Superintendent and others of AAAGH, Delhi

Respected Sir,
I have written the complaint in CVC and mentioned my official address in view to prove myself a 'Whistle Blower' under PIDPI but unfortunately the letter no. Conf/CFM/1192/13-222549 dated 13-082013 sent by your end for confirmation has disclosed my identity in the hospital.

The letter sent from your end, received in the office of Medical Superintendent, AAAGH probably on 21-08-2013 instead of me. 

On 22-08-2013 in morning, Dr. Ashok Jaiswal (Medical Superintendent) called me to provide clarification about the complaint whether I filled the complaint or not and against whom the complaint is filled, in the presence of Dr. Amit Sharma (Radiologist, General store Incharge, and Vigilance officer of the hospital). Latter on Dr. Surendra Singh (CMO, NFSG and holding post of Chairman, Medical Board) against whom the complaint was written, joined the meeting and a very long session of discussion, arguments was held in this regard in the room of the M.S.    

On 23-08-2013, this letter was handed over to me in original by getting proper receiving in the register from M.S. office. 

Due to the publicity done by all these, now most of the doctors of this hospital and the staff works in the hospital knows about the complaint filled by me in CVC. Even one doctor has told me that the M.S. warned him to work carefully because Dr. Avinash Kumar has filled the complaint in CVC. All the mentioned doctors including M.S. has disclosed my identity and defamed me also in this issue. 

Even though, I still stand on the same and undertake that I myself sent the complaint of corruption dated 01-08-2013 in CVC. 

Further I request you to please take necessary action in this issue of identity disclosure which is not supposed to do by these officials and they should not open anyone's letter which is not in their name.
ENCLOSURE: Photocopy of your letter with remarks of the M.S. and vigilance officer.

Thanking you                                    
Your's faithfully

Dr. Avinash Kumar
B-3/4E, Gasta Society, Paschim Vihar,
New Delhi -110063
Mobile No: 9560593045
E-Mail: aaaghdr@gmail.com

 Download full letter dated 28-08-2013

 

CVC again sent me a letter no. Conf/CFN/4726/13-227753 on dated 26-09-2013, confirmed that the complaint is registered as complaint no. 4726/13/10 under Public Interest &Protection of Informer Resolution (PIDPI).
This letter was again opened by Dr. Ashok Jaiswal, Medical Superintendent, AAAGH on dated 12-10-2013, get endorsed and forwarded to Vigilance officer deliberately. 

RESULT
* Status of complaint on CVC website still showing “CVO report is pending”.
* CVC is silent till date.
* NIL action taken against Dr. Ashok Jaiswal, M.S., AAAGH against disclosure of identity of Whistle Blower.